Chemistry Department


Mr Gareth Lewis, MSc
Director of Science
Teacher of Biology

Mr Lewis previously taught at Ardingly College, West Sussex. He graduated from the University of Southampton with an MSci (Hons) in Marine Biology. During his degree he spent a month researching Tropical Reef Ecology at the Bermuda Institute of Ocean Studies and completed his masters dissertation on a Geoengineering project in the Southern Ocean. He then went on to complete a Post Graduate Certificate of Education at the University of Sussex. Mr Lewis mentors the Oxbridge Biologists, supervises the Sixth Form Biology Society, coaches the U13B rugby team and is a Sixth Form tutor.


Mr Daniel Endlar, MChem
Head of Chemistry
Assistant Director of Studies


Mr Steve Gonsalves, BSc
Teacher of Chemistry

Prior to starting his degree in Chemistry, Mr Gonsalves started training as a pilot but had to give it up due to the fact that he had won a prestigious scholarship to study for a degree in a Science related field, sponsored by Guinness Worldwide.

Having been awarded the prestigious Guinness Chevening scholarship, Mr Gonsalves came to England from the Seychelles to study for a degree in Pure Chemistry & Mathematics at the University of Wales, Bangor and 3 years later, he graduated with a first class honours degree, collecting both the Muriel Edwards and the Evans Roberts prize for best student as well as the Peboc medal for his research on novel Seven co-ordinate Organometallic compounds.

Upon graduating, Mr Gonsalves worked as a research Scientist for Guinness Breweries, in London and in the Seychelles. This was followed by a 1 year stint as a Head of Instrumental Analysis and research Lab at the Bureau of Standards, based in the Seychelles. He was then appointed as Senior lecturer in Chemistry, then Head of Chemistry at the Seychelles 6th form Polytechnic College. After 4 years in this position, he accepted a teaching position here in Brentwood.


Mrs Jagdeep Khush, MSc
Teacher of Chemistry
Head of Fifth Year


Rev. Dr Adrian McConnaughie, BA, MA, PhD, BA
Teacher of Chemistry
School Chaplain


Before training for ordained ministry, Rev. Dr McConnaughie pursued a number of careers. He studied Chemistry at Oxford and, after completing a PhD at the Institute of Cancer Research in London, worked as a Research Scientist in both the USA and Cambridge. This was followed by ten years as a teacher in two schools. He trained for ministry at Trinity College in Bristol from 2006 to 2008, and served his title at Bath Abbey.


Mr James Perry, BSc
Teacher of Chemistry

Mr Perry joined Brentwood School as a teacher of Chemistry in September 2017 having previously taught at Southend High School for Girls. Mr Perry has a BSc in Pure Chemistry from the University of York where he obtained a distinction for his dissertation researching the statistical mechanics of small molecule hydrotropy on large hydrophobic dye molecules under Dr Seishi Shimizu. Mr Perry then went on and completed his PGCE at Canterbury Christ Church University.



Mr Geoffrey Pye, BSc
Teacher of Chemistry


Mr Ishmael Roslan, MChem
Teacher of Chemistry
CAS Co-ordinator


Dr Iona Ross, PhD, MA
Teacher of Physics and Chemistry


Mr John Seaman, BSc, MSc, C Chem, MRSC
Teacher of Chemistry
CCF Contingent Commander

Mr John Seaman teaches Chemistry  across the age range up to Oxbridge preparation. He joined Brentwood School in 2002 as Head of Department, having previously taught at Gresham’s and Maidstone Grammar Schools.  He has held various positions of responsibility in the School and is currently the Contingent Commander of the CCF and Chairman of Common Room. He has a Batchelor’s degree in Chemistry from the University of East Anglia (Norwich), and was subsequently awarded a full University Scholarship to study for a Master’s Degree by Research in Physical Organic Chemistry looking at the synthesis of novel semiconducting material. In addition to his teaching, he is a 6th form tutor and manages the sailing programme in the Senior School



Mrs Wendy Stephen, Senior Chemistry Technician



Mrs Deborah Mclean, Chemistry Technician



Ms Rhysian Morgan, Chemistry Technician



Mrs Fiona Penfold, Science Technician