School fencing team on point

Brentwood School’s Winter Fencing Tournament attracted more than 145 entries and proved to be a successful day for the 100-strong School team.

Our young Preparatory School fencers proved particularly formidable opponents with some stand-out performances. In the Prep School Year 3 and 4 Foil Tournament there was a fantastic Bronze medal for Chloe Leslie, while Zachary Ring went home with a silver medal after an exciting final which he lost by the smallest of margins.

In the same category, Rudraksh Gangooly fenced well on his first tournament appearance just losing his first elimination fight. Lucy Trevelyan and Henry Ding even managed to reach the quarter-finals.

Prep School Tournament Year 5 and 6 Foil was very strong. In a field of 30 contenders Damifola Odelusi and Jacob Leslie stood their ground and both only stranded in the quarter-finals. Joshua Elsworth, Varun Bhardwaj, Isaakh Jalali, Priyan Balasegaram and Matthew Trevelyan did well to advance through the first stage of the tournament but could not win their elimination fight. Toby Skinner and Sophia Jones won their first elimination round but stranded in their second elimination fight.

Mr Chris Galesloot, Master i/c Fencing, said: “These results are very promising since this was a strong field with many outside school fencers that belong to the British elite in this age-group.

“The Brentwood Prep School Fencing Team has trained very hard in 2015 and as a result we have three boys, Damifola Odelusi, Joshua Elsworth and Jacob Leslie, ranked within the top 15 of the 2015 Under 9 National Foil Ranking list for boys. Sophia Jones is ranked 13th on the National Foil ranking list for Under 9 girls.”

In the main school tournaments there was great success for the Brentwood School Fencing team with an impressive medal haul. Tobias Cooper, Valentin Ivanov and Laurie Collins proved unstoppable in their respective events and went home clutching Gold medals.

Silver medal winners included Ana Belova in the Senior mixed Sabre; Ian Ho and Matthew Goodwin in Junior mixed Sabre and Epee respectively. 

Bronze medal winners included Abigail Shepherd in Junior Girls’ Foil, Chris Danquah, Shiv Patel in Junior mixed Epee, Chris Danquah in Junior mixed Sabre, Eleana Winand and Oscar Holt in Senior mixed Epee, Tom Woolterton in Senior mixed Foil and Jaidaksh Anilkumar in Senior mixed Sabre.